Buddhism, Mindfulness, Zen, Zen practice

Turning Wrong View Right

I used to tease my little brother.  It made me happy to get him mad.  The madder, the better.  Even when I got in trouble with my father for teasing, I still felt a little bit happy that I got my brother so mad.  I thought teasing my brother was a good thing to do.   But I also knew inside of me, in my heart, in my gut, that hurting my brother was not right.

With the way I looked at it, I caused pain for those around me.  We can call this wrong view, or a wrong way of looking at it.  When we look at things in ways that cause pain and trouble, for ourselves and others, that separates us from others, we need to change our wrong view to right view.

We can say wrong and right, but right doesn’t mean that we are more and someone else is less.  Right means that we are being real, we understand how life works.  We know how to bring people together, which makes everyone feel whole and safe, and more loving.

When we do selfish things, we are looking at it wrong.   We need right view.  When we forget that we are connected to everyone and do things that cause others to feel bad, we need right view.

Right view follows Buddha’s Four Eight.  Four noble truths and all of the steps on the Noble Eightfold Path.  Understanding this about Buddha’s Path is Right View, Right Understanding.

Standard

Leave a Reply

